About the Book:

Selected carefully by well-respected editor Robert Weinberg and with an introduction by award-winning author Gene Wolfe, The Return of the Sorcerer: The Best of Clark Ashton Smith offers both readers and scholars a definitive collection of short fiction and short novels, by an overlooked master of fantasy, horror and science-fiction. Clark Ashton Smith was a self-educated American poet, sculptor, painter and author. Smith was one of “the big three of Weird Tales, along with Robert E. Howard and H. P. Lovecraft”.  His literary friendship with H. P. Lovecraft from 1922 until Lovecraft’s death in 1937, as well as Robert E. Howard also a friend and correspondent, and his amazing stories are why he is mainly remembered today. 

Review:

I kept getting recommendations to read this author after I fell in love with H. P. Lovecraft and Robert E. Howard. I liked this book very much but did not love it. It just seem to lack the power and awe I felt when I read Lovecraft and Howard. I can’t quite say what is missing. Still Mr. Smith’s stories are very good, and deserve to be compared to lovecraft and Howard. There are truly some great tales in this volume. I recommend giving this book and author a try if you love the pulpy, weird tales style these authors are famous for.

4/5 Stars

1/14/15

