I am starting off Mark Lawrence week with a wonderful short story, During the Dance. A little about it from Mr. Lawrence.


“A short story about a child with a gift for seeing past the world. 2000 words.
A short story I wrote back in 2004, shortly after my 4th child was born, very disabled. An emotional tale that is perhaps a reflection of the times it was written in.
It’s now free on Amazon and amazingly it’s at #1 on the short story / anthology ‘bestseller’ list for free books!”


And A little bit about Mark Lawrence.

Mark Lawrence is married with four children, one of whom is severely disabled. His day job is as a research scientist focused on various rather intractable problems in the field of artificial intelligence. He has held secret level clearance with both US and UK governments. At one point he was qualified to say ‘this isn’t rocket science … oh wait, it actually is’. Between work and caring for his disabled child, Mark spends his time writing, playing computer games, tending an allotment, brewing beer, and avoiding DIY.


Alright, and now for my review. This was a truly a fantastic little tale that is well worth five minutes of your life, and will probably change your way of looking at life in that five minutes. Gave me goosebumps! Made me emotional, I made my wife read it and we discussed it. Not something we usually do, she does not share my taste in books. We both love this story. Thank You Mr. Lawrence!

5/5 Stars

Check back ALL week for more Mark Lawrence reviews!

2/19/15

