My review today is for The Shadow Rising: Book Four of ‘The Wheel of Time’ by Robert Jordan. I find it hard to review these booksHow do you review books that are Fantasy classics? These are books that everybody already knows are good. I find it difficult to express how great these books are. I mean besides Lord of the Rings this has to be considered the best classic Epic Fantasy right? Well I guess I will just take it book by book and see what happens. This is yet another great book in this series. What a wonderful story. Awesome characters. The worldbuilding is just fantastic. Robert Jordan deserves his reputation as the outstanding author he was. This series deserves it’s place near the top of all epic fantasy. The adventures of Rand, Perrin, and Mat are truly epic. Classic fantasy at it’s best. You have reluctant heroes, Dark powers, magic, diverse people, and great battles. I said in my last review that if there was any downside to that last book It was the lack of Rand, Mat, and Perrin and To much Aes Sedai. Thankfully that seemed to be just that book. I guess it is just harder for me to relate to the female characters, I don’t know, but when there is to much Aes Sedai I seem to start tuning out. A good balance in the characters definitely works best for me. The only regret I have with this book, and the series is that I did not read it sooner! I can see now that I am going to be obsessed with this series. I finally know what all the hype was about from all the WoT fans out there. Now I am one of you. Now if I can just read the whole series this year (I am already behind). On to The Fires of Heaven.

4/5 Stars

Make sure you check out all the Wheel of Time books from Tor Books!

Keep an eye out for more Wheel of Time reviews coming soon!

6/12/15

About the book:

The Shadow Rising: Book Four of ‘The Wheel of Time’

  • Series: Wheel of Time (Book 4)
  • Paperback: 944 pages
  • Publisher: Tor Books; Reprint edition (October 2, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0765334674
  • ISBN-13: 978-0765334671

The seals of Shayol Ghul are weak now, and the Dark One reaches out. The Shadow is rising to cover humankind.

In Tar Valon, Min sees portents of hideous doom. Will the White Tower itself be broken?

In the Two Rivers, the Whitecloaks ride in pursuit of a man with golden eyes, and in pursuit of the Dragon Reborn.

In Cantorin, among the Sea Folk, High Lady Suroth plans the return of the Seanchan armies to the mainland.

In the Stone of Tear, the Lord Dragon considers his next move. It will be something no one expects, not the Black Ajah, not Tairen nobles, not Aes Sedai, not Egwene or Elayne or Nynaeve.

Against the Shadow rising stands the Dragon Reborn…..

The Wheel of Time®, Robert Jordan’s internationally bestselling fantasy series, has captured the imaginations of millions of readers worldwide. Now The Shadow Rising will be available in trade paperback for the first time. This new edition will feature cover art from award-winning artist Sam Weber. This stunning cover art debuted on the e-book and will now grace bookstores for the first time on this handsome new edition.

 

About the author:

Robert Jordan was the pen name of James Oliver Rigney, Jr., under which he was best known as the author of the bestselling The Wheel of Time fantasy series. Jordan was born in Charleston, South Carolina. He served two tours in Vietnam (from 1968 to 1970) with the United States Army as a helicopter gunner. He was awarded the Distinguished Flying Cross with bronze oak leaf cluster, the Bronze Star with “V” and bronze oak leaf cluster, and two Vietnamese Gallantry Crosses with palm. After returning from Vietnam he attended The Citadel where he received an undergraduate degree in physics. After graduating he was employed by the United States Navy as a nuclear engineer. He began writing in 1977. He was a history buff and enjoyed hunting, fishing, sailing, poker, chess, pool, and pipe collecting. Robert Jordan died on September 16, 2007, after a courageous battle with the rare blood disease amyloidosis.

