Today I will be reviewing The Wheel of Osheim by Mark Lawrence     

A copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review. My opinions are my own.

I always find it difficult to review books that I love as much as all of Mark Lawrence’s books. I guess it is the fact that I want to make sure I can express how much the books meant to me and how much I want everyone to know that. Can I do them justice with my little review? Probably not, but I will try.

I have given all of Mark’s books 5/5 stars and to be honest each book has been better than the last. I need a new rating system for his books! I honestly do not know how he has done it but every book continues to get better. Whenever I think I am going to be slightly let down in a new book (how can they get better) I am again blown away.

Now the last book The Liar’s Key was a special book to me. I had a emotional bond with it. It was a tough time in my life and it helped me get though. To be honest things got worse, I stopped reading and blogging for a while. I have been trying to get back into both reading and blogging recently. I started several books and just could not get into them, I know they are good books and I will read them but everything seemed to lack something. I got the email that I was approved on Netgalley for The Wheel of Osheim and I was so excited, full on happy dance excited. This had to be what I needed to get back into things. Right? Boy was I right. It felt so right in the world again. I had a Mark Lawrence book to read, and it was amazing! His best book yet. This book truly brought me back and I am very thankful for that.

This book like all of Mark’s others is well written with his mastery of prose. It’s hard to describe for me but when I am reading his work it never feels tedious, everything flows so beautifully and I am immersed in the story. The man just has a way with words! Master worldbuilding is still the key with this book. It is very easy to feel right at home in the world created here. A vast and rich world but never overwhelming, you never get lost in the vastness. It is deep and colorful, full of imagination, with a gritty undertone. Now what makes this book and series so special to me are the characters. His characters are wonderfully complex and easily identifiable. To be specific the dynamic duo of Jal and Snorri. The relationship between these two is truly a thing of beauty. It has been many things though out the series but has always been what held everything together. I started out the series a Snorri fan and ended a Jalen fan. To be honest I really love them both.

In conclusion what can I say but this is an amazing piece of literary genius! This book has built upon the extraordinary solid foundation of the first two books and takes this series to a new level of greatness. I will put these books proudly on display, on the self next to Tolkien and Martin.

Well, I am not one for big long reviews full of synopsis and spoilers. So I guess what I wrote will have to due. It is enough for me, I hope it is for you too.

Now I will be not so patiently waiting for whatever Mark has in store for us next, The RED SISTER trilogy? Hmmm, sign me up! Very excited!

5/5 STARS!

The Red Queen’s War series also 5/5 Stars!

The Wheel of Osheim by Mark Lawrence     

Is out June 7, 2016! from Ace books, I recommend you go get a copy!

Check out all of my Mark Lawrence reviews:

During the Dance by Mark Lawrence

Prince of Thorns (The Broken Empire #1) by Mark Lawrence

Select Mode (The Broken Empire, #1.5) by Mark Lawrence

King of Thorns (The Broken Empire #2) by Mark Lawrence

Sleeping Beauty (The Broken Empire, #2.5) by Mark Lawrence

Emperor of Thorns (The Broken Empire #3) by Mark Lawrence

Prince of Fools (The Red Queen’s War #1) by Mark Lawrence

The Liar’s Key (The Red Queen’s War Book 2) by Mark Lawrence


BUY HERE: The Wheel of Osheim by Mark Lawrence     

Series: The Red Queen’s War (Book 3)

  • Hardcover: 432 pages
  • Publisher: Ace (June 7, 2016)
  • ISBN-10: 0425268829
  • ISBN-13: 978-0425268827

From the international bestselling author of the Broken Empire Trilogy, the thrilling conclusion to the Red Queen’s War…
Mark Lawrence’s “epic fantasy” (The Washington Post) continues as a reluctant prince returns from the bowels of Hell to engage in his greatest battle yet—among the living and the dead.

All the horrors of Hell stand between Snorri Ver Snagason and the rescue of his family, if indeed the dead can be rescued. For Jalan Kendeth, getting back out alive and with Loki’s key is all that matters. Loki’s creation can open any lock, any door, and it may also be the key to Jalan’s fortune back in the living world.

Jalan plans to return to the three w’s that have been the core of his idle and debauched life: wine, women, and wagering. Fate however has other plans, larger plans. The Wheel of Osheim is turning ever faster, and it will crack the world unless it’s stopped. When the end of all things looms, and there’s nowhere to run, even the worst coward must find new answers. Jalan and Snorri face many dangers, from the corpse hordes of the Dead King to the many mirrors of the Lady Blue, but in the end, fast or slow, the Wheel of Osheim always pulls you back. In the end it’s win or die.


Mark Lawrence is married with four children, one of whom is severely disabled. His day job is as a research scientist focused on various rather intractable problems in the field of artificial intelligence. He has held secret level clearance with both US and UK governments. At one point he was qualified to say ‘this isn’t rocket science … oh wait, it actually is’.
Between work and caring for his disabled child, Mark spends his time writing, playing computer games, tending an allotment, brewing beer, and avoiding DIY.

Blog here: http://mark—

Facebook here:…

[My next book The Wheel of Osheim is out in June 2016]