As part of my author guest blog series I am proud to present another guest blog spot. Jacinta Maree the author of Time Weaver has been kind enough to write a guest blog post for MightyThorJRS today. I am very excited and I would like to thank Jacinta and Ragnarok Publishing for the opportunity to host this Guest Blog. 

Time Weaver: Heart of Cogs (Time Collector)

by Jacinta Maree

Is Out NOW!

So go get your copy!

 

https://www.ragnarokpub.com/

 


Writing Time Weaver – Subtext and Challenges.

by Jacinta Maree

 

The beginning of novels often start with an idea, or for some, an explosion of moments all accumulating into one arching plot. Time Weaver started off as a simple passing thought which unravelled into the original basic story line. What if wishes could come true? Now, I sat on Time Weaver for a long time trying to work out how I could make this question a plausible thing in someone’s world. Originally I couldn’t imagine a world so bendable that a person’s wish could completely alter their timeline, their status and the lives of everyone else around them, and not become a chaotic mess. How would such a world function when it could be bent and reshaped to suit one person’s request?

Hence, where Time Collectors came in. Time Collectors are modern day genies capable of exchanging wishes for time. This is how I thought I was going to beat the disruption problem. Not only make wishes minimum but also they cost time off your lifeline. Suddenly, people would be more reluctant to seize power or fame knowing it’ll strip them fifty years off their lives. Once the wisher has passed on, their contract (wish) with the Time Collector becomes void. If they wished for fortune, they would lose all their money. If they wished for fame, they would be quickly forgotten in the media and social conversation. But there are loopholes in the Collector’s capabilities. For example, say if someone wished for someone else to be killed and then the wisher passes away, the murdered victim would not be brought back to life. To help balance these loopholes, I had to craft that the bigger the wish the more time it’ll cost. With the expectant life of only eighty years old, many people cannot afford to make large demands.

I will be honest, the fact the world is built with a steampunk background is purely because I find the idea interesting and fun. It could easily be in our modern day society, or back in medieval times or even set in the background of fairies and orcs. There are heavy supernatural elements through Time Weaver such as witches, Gargoyles and creatures known as Bactes, but their supernatural powers don’t extend beyond survival and hunting. Aside from Time Collectors, there’s really no magic involvement that can’t be undone or matched. Everything has a role in the universe, and it took me some time to figure out exactly how they all interact and work with each other.

World building aside, writing Time Weaver has been one of my biggest challenges, and greatest accomplishments. I picked up a book called How to Read Literature like a Professor, by Thomas C Foster and it had opened my eyes to all literary possibilities. With that book alone, I took my completed manuscript for Time Weaver and completely rewrote it. Now there are a lot symbolisms used to foresee my long term plan with the story. Symbolism is also used to explain a character’s true intentions or to show the reader information that even the characters aren’t aware of yet. One such example, is the drink theory. Even though there are no written rules, I’ve used certain type of drinks to draw out emotions, elements and intentions in my characters. Wine is often referred to with romantic interest. Tea, can be seen as a homosexual interaction whereas coffee is symbolic of heterosexual. Water is purity and truth where as alcohol (spirits) has been used for fear or moments in character’s development that leaves them feeling uncomfortable or vulnerable. I would suggest taking notice of the weather when it is mentioned as it also links to overarching plots and intentions. Even professions matter and can lead to long term secrets.

I know during my years of studying literature, I often found it strange how my teacher was able to pick apart an author’s intention using obscure techniques. I thought, how could you possibly know that is what they intended? What if it was just a coincidence? At least now my readers can know I purposely wove these ‘coincidences’ into my novel and after reading this post, I hope you can go back through Time Weaver and have fun diving into the conspiracy of the book. If you think there’s a double meaning, there’s a good chance I put it in there on purpose.

 

 


About Jacinta Maree:

Born in Melbourne Australia, Jacinta Maree considers herself a chocoholic with an obsession with dragons, video gaming and Japan. She writes a variety of genres including YA paranormal, steampunk, horror, new adult, dystopian and fantasy. Multiple award winner and bestselling author, Jacinta writes to bring enjoyment to others while fulfilling her own need to explore the weird and the impossible.
You can find her here:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jacintamareeauthor/

Twitter: @jacintamaree6

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6448929.Jacinta_Maree

Wix: http://jacintamaree.wix.com/jacintamaree

 

 


51Em9odO3SL

Time Weaver: Heart of Cogs (Time Collector)

by Jacinta Maree

About Time Weaver: Heart of Cogs (Time Collector #1)

I have a clock for a heart . . . and the man who put it there tried to take it out.

Time Collectors are modern day genies capable of exchanging wishes for time. Elizabeth Wicker lives within a steampunk world riddled with the supernatural. Among the stories of witches, Bacts, and other monsters, Time Collectors remain as the greatest hushed secret among the noble families. They are temptation’s greatest tools. A contract with a Time Collector is a guaranteed death sentence, and for some the price isn’t worth the prize. But when Elizabeth is struck down by a fatal heart attack, she finds herself trapped beneath a Time Collector’s blade. With no time left to offer, she makes a desperate sacrifice for a second chance at life. If there’s only one truth, it is a Time Collector will always come back to collect.

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Time-Weaver-Heart-Cogs-Collector/dp/1941987877/

 

Goodreads page: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28516503-time-weaver

 

https://www.ragnarokpub.com/

51TAy+sbNZL


