As part of my author guest blog series I am proud to present another guest blog spot.

Author Matt Moss has been kind enough to write a guest blog post for MightyThorJRS today. I am very excited and I would like to thank Matt for the opportunity to host this Guest Blog.

Would you like to be a part of my author guest blog series? Please contact me! mightythorjrs@gmail.com

Now without further adieu here is Matt’s awesome guest blog!

 

 


 

 

 

Creativity is fostered through experience

by Matt Moss

 

I contacted James a few days ago to talk about a guest post on his blog. I asked him what he would like from me, or better yet, what can I bring to the table? He gave me a few examples from some of his previous posts from other authors:

1) I could talk about my writing process.

2) Discuss why I chose to write multiple POV’s

3) Or go about promoting my book somehow. I could talk about secret societies or religion. Maybe the end of days…

For days now, I thought about what I wanted to say and how I could best serve his blog, along with myself, in reaching others.

So, I said fuck it, and wrote what I knew.

What I know is this — creativity is fostered through experience.

I’m not talking about taking a creative writing course, or watching Bob Ross paint happy trees. What do you mean you don’t know who Bob Ross is, you fidget spinning, vine watching millennial? No, I can’t say millennial because that’s the age group that google has placed me in. I pity the younger generation because they just don’t get it. But it’s not there fault that they don’t know who Bob Ross is.

I’m talking about real-life experience — something that has happened to you, or how you were raised.

You see, I’m a so-called millennial. I was born in ’84 and grew up in a town of 1500 people, nestled in the mountains of Northern California. The nearest Mc’Donald’s was an hour and a half away. We didn’t have a lot of money, but we had what we needed. I am thankful for my upbringing. It was my childhood that instilled a love for dreaming and creativity, I just didn’t know it at the time.

I was fortunate enough to grow up in the golden age of video games. Throughout my life, I have seen the birth of Zelda, Mario, and Master Chief. For hours, I would spend my time playing Final Fantasy, Chrono Trigger, Secret of Mana, and other RPG’s that told amazing stories of trials, tribulation, triumph, and glory. I had a poster of Brittney Spears that hung on my bedroom wall and played her album over and over again while I cursed Final Fantasy 8 because I wasn’t strong enough to take on the final boss. I spent thirty more hours leveling up, not because it took that much to beat him, but because I wanted to crush him.

Video games became a large part of my life at an early age and ultimately shaped who I am as a person today.

Creativity was also honed while playing with my friends outside. Yes, I said outside. That magical place with trees, grass, dirt, and blood. We would adventure the mountains of NorCal, daring any mountain lion or grizzly bear to fuck with us, each armed with sticks and rocks that would deliver a strike to the eyes with deadly precision. We were immortal, fearless — like Lock Lamora’s gang in the Gentlemen Bastards.

As I grew older, movies became a huge factor in my creative education. Actor’s like Willis, Ford, Stallone, Arnold (he’s the only one you can refer to by his first name), and Gibson. Eighties and nineties movies were the best of the best. The action, the drama, the one-liners — it was storytelling at its finest. There has never been a finer generation of actors, or movies, to grace the human race. And again, I pity the younger generation who do not know these things. It was these movies, and these video games, that helped shape who I am.

In my teens, I fell in love with MMORPG’s, rock music, and girls. I spent most of my time with MMORPG’s and rock music. Over the summer of ’98, I realized what a soul sucker these games were in the form of Ultima Online, and had to let it go. First person shooters became big in the late 90’s, so I learned to play Unreal Tournament and wreck noobs with a sniper rifle from across the map. Enter the age of trash talking. I became adept at trash talking during my Halo days. Back then, it was all in good fun and people didn’t freak out over bullying like they do today. Society is slowly becoming soft, but that’s a different topic. Other games I loved — Starcraft, Warcraft, Diablo, and MtG. Really, there are too many to mention. Some of you know what I’m talking about.

Video games, movies, music, and spending time with friends in nature — all of these things have helped shape my creative mind. But that’s only a part of what made me who I am.

And who am I? I’m just a fidget spinning millennial with a dream. A dream of writing full time and becoming my best self.

Other than talking about my boring past, what does this entire post even mean? What’s the point? What am I trying to say?

Don’t overthink things.

Go with your gut.

Don’t put a label on yourself. Don’t get caught up with what everyone else is doing.

Draw on your life’s experiences for creativity.

Make something. Give it your best.

Get outside more. Disconnect.

Become your best self and stop making excuses for why you can’t do something.

Don’t be afraid of the unknown. In fact, run at that mother fucker with guns blazing.

Find your purpose.

Give something back. Always remember, it’s not about you. It never has been.

 

Also, I lied. I don’t spin fidgets.

 

Connect with me more at www.mossthewriter.com or @mossthewriter on social media

 

Here’s a link to my book, The Path of Man –

 

 


 

 

 

Matt Moss is an older millennial who found a love for reading in his mid-twenties. After three years of devouring fantasy and historical fiction novels, he decided to try his own hand at writing. The Path of Man was written by hand during his breaks while working construction as an industrial electrician. He currently lives in the mountains of North Carolina with his wife and three toddlers and writes around the edges of the day.

Receive a free copy of The Forsaken Guardian by signing up to his email list. It’s also the best way to stay in touch with his writing.
http://www.mossthewriter.com

Connect with him @mossthewriter on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

 

 


 

 

51oNjR0gRSL

 

The Path of Man (The Soul Stone Trilogy Book 1)

by Matt Moss

 

The war has just begun.

The Dark Society has finally emerged from the shadows after years of silence. Their mission is clear and they won’t stop until the Order is destroyed.

The Order has been waiting for this day. The Prophet has already assured their victory.

Buried within the riddles of an ancient text lies a place of legend that contains an unspeakable power. Many believe it to be a myth. But if the rumors are true, the Dark Society may already know of its location.

Arkin’s world is changed forever when a stranger rides into town. Suddenly, he’s thrown into the age-old war between the Order and the Dark Society. Choices made in the past ripple through time as Arkin puts the pieces together. His choices will determine the future of all as he follows the Path of Man.

The Soul Stone Trilogy:
Book 1 – The Path of Man
Book 2 – Coming Summer, 2017

 

 


 

 

 

