Today my review is for Thune’s Vision by Schuyler Hernstrom

 

I have to admit I have not been reading much lately. I have been in a huge reading slump. I don’t like anything I start reading anymore. Modern Fantasy and Modern Fantasy authors have got me down. In my quest to find my fantasy reading mojo again I decided to go back to my fantasy roots. What got me into loving fantasy in the first place. Well my favorite author of all time is Robert E. Howard, I just can’t get enough of Conan and his other outstanding characters. So I have been on a Sword and Sorcery mission as of late, rereading all of my old books. Then I thought to myself are there any authors writing this type of S&S, pulp, weird fiction anymore? Well yes, there is and the best I have found is Schuyler Hernstom.

He has written some fantastic stories for magazines like Cirsova, and I became a fan. When I saw he had a book of stories for sale I jumped all over it! This book Thune’s Vision is a spectacular collection of stories that will remind you of a time past. When fantasy did not have to be bloated, long series. When the focus was on quality and not quantity. He has done a masterful job of creating modern stories that live up to the greats of the past.

Thune’s Vision is a collection of four short stories (The Challenger’s Garland, Athan and the Priestess, The Movements of the Ige, and The Ecology of the Unicorn) and the novelette The Saga of the Adawolf.

All of these stories are quite good and I immensely enjoyed all of them but I have to admit I did favor the Adawolf story. It is a saga in every since of the word. A modern story that could have been pulled right out of the text of the great Norse sagas in the Poetic Edda.

In conclusion, I am no longer in a reading slump. I have found my reading mojo once again thanks to Mr. Hernstrom and his epic stories. I cannot recommend this book enough. If you are a fan of REH, ERB, Vance, or any of the other great authors of an era gone by this book should be on your radar. I want to make one thing very clear, these stories are NOT pastiche! This is new and original with everything that made the stories of REH and others so great. I can’t wait for more from this promising new author. I will be first in line, money in hand for more stories!

As you know if you have read my reviews before I am not about long reviews with synopsis and spoilers. I just give my opinion on my experience with this book and you can take it from there. Now on to the next book.

5/5 STARS

Thune’s Vision

by Schuyler Hernstrom

Is out NOW!

So go get your copy!

 

#PulpRevolution #PulpRev

 


 

 

 

516TtCvHahL

 

Thune’s Vision

by Schuyler Hernstrom

 

In the tradition of authors like Jack Vance and Robert E. Howard comes an anthology of wonder, adventure, fantasy, and the strange. Schuyler Hernstrom brings fantasy short fiction back to its roots with four short stories and a novella. Each story is a paean to the genre from the days when lurid paperbacks called to us from rickety spinner racks, Burroughs reprints alongside Moorcock and Jakes and many others. This is a collection to savor on a lazy afternoon, a trip into the weird and heroic. Sometimes wry, sometimes brutal, and always entertaining. Grim warlords and dark prophecy, selfish wizards and beautiful women, strange aliens and fatal hubris, all contained within its pages. This anthology will delight the connoisseur who prefers an older vintage and makes no apology. In the fantasy genre what was old is new again. So get in your airbrushed van and buckle up, you are going on a wild trip.

 

 


 

 

Schuyler Hernstrom spent a great deal of his youth reading and rereading the works of Jack Vance and Robert E. Howard. After two enlistments, an education, and many years abroad he finally found himself ready to make his own contribution to his favorite genres, fantasy and science fiction. His work reflects his love of the written word as well as an abiding interest in the weird and spectacular. He has been a paratrooper, sailor, janitor, bouncer in Roppongi*, librarian, and a dozen other things, bringing a world wise slant to his tales of the fantastic. If you enjoy your bloody action couched in graceful prose and tinted with sadness for lost epochs, then perhaps you will enjoy his work.

*This is one of the easiest places in the world to be a bouncer. If you were thinking Road House you are mistaken.

 

 


 

 

 

Advertisements