This Kickstarter came to my attention and I thought it was awesome enough to share! This book looks fantastic! Always love supporting Michael J. Sullivan. I backed it right away! Take a moment to go check it out and maybe even support it!

 

 


 

 

You can take a look here:

 

 

LINK TO SUPPORT THIS KICKSTARTER:

http://kck.st/2kqg1Ti

 

 

About this project

Ride with Royce and Hadrian as the cynical ex-assassin and idealistic ex-mercenary travel to a mysterious old-world city filled with nobles claiming descent from imperial aristocracy. Riyria’s job appears easy: discover what happened to the missing duchess and, if she lives, bring her home . . . if not, punish those responsible. But nothing is simple in the crowded, narrow, mist-filled streets of Rochelle, where more than one ancient legend lurks.

Welcome to my third Kickstarter! I previously ran one for my sci-fi thriller (Hollow World), and another for a Riyria book (The Death of Dulgath). The purpose of this Kickstarter is to raise money to print hardcovers for my latest novel, The Disappearance of Winter’s Daughter.

This marks the tenth novel staring Royce Melborn and Hadrian Blackwater, and it was written so that anyone can dive straight in. In other words, you can fully enjoy the novel without any prior knowledge of the Riyria books. That said, my prediction is that once you’ve read Winter’s Daughter, you’ll want to pick up the other books as well!

The book is fully written, beta tested (26 readers), and professionally edited (2 copyeditors). It finished out at  480 pages (which is about 117,000 words).

During the last Kickstarter, a number of people expressed a desire for audiobooks. At that time, I didn’t have a way to make that happen, but thanks to Audible Studios, we can have them for this project. And yes, they will also be available on Dec 5th!! In fact, Robin (my wife) and I will be in the studio in just a few days during the recording. We hope to give you some live updates from there! There are three different audio book levels (both with and without the ebook. If you also want a physical copy, no problem. Just pick the physical reward and then add $10 to your pledge. When the Kickstarter is over, you’ll be able to “distribute” that $10 to an audiobook version.

One of the coolest things about being a backer of this novel, is you’ll be able to read it on December 5th, that’s a whole six months before the retail release on June 5th, 2018.

Also, if we fund, I have several stretch goals to give backers bonus stuff that would be hard to distribute without a Kickstarter.

I should note that if the project doesn’t fund, the book will still be released but only in ebook, audiobook, and the trade paperback will be produced using print-on-demand technology (which will significantly increase the price of the physical copy).

If you aren’t familiar with the Riyria books, think of them as Lethal Weapon meets Lord of the Rings. If you have read some of my books, then you already know that I write fun, fast-paced, classic fantasy with a dash of humor thrown in. To give you a bit more context, here is the marketing copy that appears on the back of the book:

Caught between his partner’s moral compass and a father’s desire for vengeance, will Royce turn the rivers of Rochelle red?

When Gabriel Winter’s daughter mysteriously disappears and is presumed dead, the wealthy whiskey baron seeks revenge. Having lived in Colnora during the infamous Year of Fear, he hires the one man he knows can deliver a bloody retribution—the notorious Duster.

I’ve been a storyteller all my life, and my writing career has had four major stages. I started in my early teens, creating on my sister’s portable typewriter and binding “the books”with yarn to a colored-paper cover. Serious writing began in 1976–between then and 1994, I wrote thirteen novels. The early ones weren’t meant for publication (they were written to teach me how to write), but the last few were pretty darn good. I spent about eight years on the query-go-round, and when I failed even in finding an agent I decided to quit because, as Einstein so astutely pointed out: “Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.” I call this time my Linus-in-the-pumpkin-patch stage.

Stage three began in 2004. At that time, my daughter was struggling with severe dyslexia, and I had picked up the first Harry Potter story because I’d heard good things. She didn’t read it, but I did, and it reminded me how good an adventure with lovable characters can be. Over my decade’s hiatus, stories of two rogues-for-hire had been invading my brain, but I refused to pick up the pen (or sit down at the keyboard). I finally relented, but on one very important condition: that I wouldn’t seek publication. I already knew “that way led to the dark side.” After reading the books, my wife determined they had to get out there. So she took on the responsibility for the business and publishing aspects of my writing. She amassed her own set of rejections, finally landed an agent, but none of the genre publishers were interested in tales with Royce and Hadrian. Robin eventually found a small press, who was well-intentioned but fiscally challenged. When they didn’t have the money for the press run for the second book, we retrieved the right and self-published it and the other books of the Riyria series. This time in my writing career could be best be described as the-little-engine-who-doesn’t-give-up.

Stage four began in the fall of 2010 when my wife had the brilliant idea of trying New York once more, now that we’d found readers through self-publishing. Turned out she was right, and Orbit signed and re-published The Riyria Revelations as well as the first two books of the Riyria Chronicles. When I finished Legends of the First Empire, Robin thought it was time to move upto a hard cover releases, but Orbit didn’t agree. Fortunately, Penguin Random House’s Del Rey Imprint did. I’ve been traditionally published since 2011, and my sales have increased such that I’m now in the I’ve-finally-made-it stage. If you want to discover why I feel that I can say I’m a professional author (and still keep a straight face), you can check out the Author Stats section.

 

 


 

 

I hope you will back this project like I did!

http://kck.st/2kqg1Ti

 

 


 

 

 

